3d modeling stopmotion

OK so I’ve heard that it’s very difficult to make 3d models that have their bellies expand and gain weight without a lot of knowledge on 3d modeling. But I was wondering if you use a stop motion animation for that or what

There is no reason why you cant use stop motion, and while rare some games to make use of stop motion animation for their assets. The main problem is that stop motions is actually very time intensive. From my understanding you could rank the difficulty of animation like so (keep in mind I am not an artist):

1. Stop motion
  2. 2d frame by frame
  3. 2d puppet
  4. 3d animation

You could also model the 3d model physically first and use a 3d scanner to then scan it to make it a 3d model but this can require some expensive hardware and/or software to do.

Really in the end though most 3d modeling software has some sort of sculpt mode that allows you to treat the 3d model like it is a piece of clay so I dont see any major advantages to doing traditional stop motion over 3d modeling.

It’s extremely easy to expand a model and lock it to either a - morph target/shape key or animation. You can practice this with a basic cube.

Since blender is easy to get and also free, I’ll use it as an example:

Opening blender for the first time, cancel out the splash screen and you’ll see a cube

Click the upside down triangle to in the right side panel, click the + next to shape keys to make Basis, then click it again to make Key 1.
Click on Key 1 then press tab, click on any of the cube vertex and move it, press tab again to exit edit mode.
With Key 1 still selected, you’ll see a value of 0.00 you can either double click the value and manual entry or slide the slider.

Congratulations, you made your first “slider” in game terms.