A Growing Friendship

Hello all, this is my first attempt at creating a text adventure game (or any game for that matter) so it will be a little rough around the edges as I try to get more comfortable with the format.

The concept:

The story follows the main character Casey and two friends of hers. It will be split into chapters, each chapter will be contained in the duration of a relatively short time period. There are two types of chapters, the decision chapters where you can make choices that will impact which character/characters will gain weight (and how much) and the story chapters which will play out differently depending on the choices you made. Every decision chapter will be followed by a story chapter and every story chapter by a decision chapter. Different decisions will lead to different outcomes, mostly regarding each character’s weight, and based on their weight, characters will look different (obviously) but also act different, with different dialogue.

Notes:

• There might be spelling errors, missing words (I do this a lot unfortunately), bugs and maybe sequences that will soft-lock you. Bear with me and feel free to mention such problems so I can work to fix them.
  • Gameplay for the moment is very rudimentary. Maps are small (often single areas with only a few interactibles) and the choices are simple (who do you give this to). The main focus is the branching story but this might change eventually.
  • Certain story moments will cause characters to gain weight regardless of your choices. After all, some things are out of your control.
  • I don’t advise using a save editor. A lot of things are based on specific variables and combinations and changing them will probably lead to the game getting stuck. If you still want to try, then you do you.

In this version two chapters are available. A total of five different outcomes can be achieved in the first chapter and the second one shows the results of each of those. Feedback is welcome.
14 Likes