A Twine/CYOA style poll/discussion: explicit or implicit decisions?

Greetings and salutations. To rephrase the thread title: when playing/reading a CYOA story, particularly one made in Twine, do you prefer links to new passages (decisions) to be explicitly described to the reader, or left a bit more subtle and implicit?

I wrote up a sample paragraph to provide examples.

Here is the “explicit” example:

And the “implicit” example:

Here is a Strawpoll, so that I can have some data (even from lurkers) on the matter: Do you prefer "explicit" or "implicit" decisions in a Twine-based CYOA... - Online Poll - StrawPoll

As a writer, I favor “implicit”, but of course I do; that’s easier to write. I know what the results of a decision will be, and besides, I feel that having a block of decisions trailing the text disturbs the flow of the writing. But I’m a snob with literary aspirations, so maybe the typical reader doesn’t care.

I’m curious about the community’s thoughts.

1 Like

For what it’s worth, I have to answer your question with a question - do you have the “go back” button implemented?

Because if it is, the implicit option flows better - but the actual implications of some of those choices can be missed, and people don’t like it if they click on something thinking that they’re doing one thing and it turns out that choice actually meant something completely different. (The example which most immediately springs to mind is in Wolf Among Us by Telltale Games, which uses the slang term “glass him” as an option when talking to somebody in a serious scene at a bar - people unfamiliar with it thought it meant “buy the man a glass of booze,” when it means “hit him in the face with a glass.”)

If you don’t allow for players to go back and choose differently based upon what actually follows from the choice taken, the explicit option will result in less annoyance on the players’ side by telling them EXACTLY what each link means in the narrative.

4 Likes