Adjusting weight/sizes in Unity

Hello, I just started learning Unity, and I’m wanting to make an inflation based game (see my idea thread here: Idea: Inflation/object inflation metroidvania/puzzle - #3 by HappyFlygon ), but I have run into an issue… I don’t know how to adjust weight/individual rig sizes in Unity. I know the rig sizes would probably need to be done in Blender and then exported to Unity, but as for the weight, I have no clue. This would need to happen for the mechanic to actually work properly. (the player character/objects would get lighter/heavier depending on the type and amount of inflation) How would I go about doing this in unity? Thank you for the help in advance!

1 Like

If they have a rigidbody component (it gives them physics), you can adjust the mass there. Otherwise you’d have to just decrease jump height and increase their falling acceleration based on weight, in code etc.

1 Like

Ya, @BloatedGoyle is right and it holds true in really all other engines as well. You can adjust the mass of a rigid body and let the engines built in physics handles some of the stuff for you but this does not work well for all games in which case you have to kind of handle the calculations yourself which can be done quite a few ways.

In past games I have done I used weight to calculate a modifier that was applied to gravity and movement speed and that tended to work well. Both ways will require some trial and error to make it feel right though.

Falling acceleration is actually constant for everything regardless of weight (except for things like feathers and balloons that have very high wind resistance compared to their mass) so I would recommend not changing this at all unless you’re going for air inflation.

I’m actually going for four types of inflation:
Helium (obvious) causes floating
O2 (decreases density)
Water (increases weight)
Fat (increases weight a LOT, can only be applied to characters, and only goes away upon next level)