Early WIP report, semi-realistic weight gain strategy-sim

Update for anyone digging up this old thread: The project is now called Gaining Perspective, and has it’s own section. See you there!

So I’ve been lurking a while. I’m here for the same reason as a lot of you, and generally found a lot of games that are proof-of-concepts, teasers, adaptations, mods, and afterthoughts.

Could I make my own? Definitely maybe.

This game is a project I’ve been working on sporadically for a couple of years. There were several false starts, different ideas, and different platforms. (I considered different game engines, dabbled in Flash/HTML5, and eventually got traction working in Twine after seeing what Leupai achieved with Boundless). I’m not entirely useless with graphic design, but decided a bare-bones look would suffice unless the graphics could add something to gameplay. I figured out a bit of CSS recently, which helped dress things up a little.

Premise:
Your character has a fattening childhood, graduates from school, enters the workforce, and tries to holds down a job while they save their money, lay the groundwork to support their advancing obesity, and slowly (or not so slowly) watch that groundwork crumble. How long can you last, and how big will you get?

It borrows inspiration from a few games, off the top of my head:
Leupai’s Boundless (Twine platform, some of my UI choices)
dj_sharp’s “A Game” (Some of the food inventory handling, automated purchase system)
noone’s “Fatty Text Adventure” (Probably the closest thing I can recall to a “finished product” in this genre)
Several others: (inspiration for Metabolism, stomach, and digestion simulation)

Some planned features (* mostly implemented):

• Opening framing story, with basic questions that affect your starting situation (*)
  • Metabolism simulation (*)
  • Daily cycle, with rest and sleep (*)
  • Food shopping, inventory, and fast food delivery (*)
  • Health, stamina/energy, and morale personal stats (*)