Engines for beginners

So this is a cleaned up and hopefully expanded version of what I posted previously in the discord previously and I thought I’d add it here (and people can add to it with their knowledge and experience).

Basically this is a list of Engines with Pros and Cons for absolute beginners because plenty of people might want to make a game but like me you can barely code if at all. Also people who like me suck at drawing and art.

So this is based on my experiences with the Engines listed, if it’s not listed I don’t feel I have the experience to talk about it having not messed with it much or not felt I got to grips with it

RAGS - I think it’s Rapid Adventure Game System,

• it’s one the easiest and most complete game creation tools for interactive fiction and stuff.
  • Paid for
    – Not just paid for but subscription not lifetime license or pay once.
  • The interface looks awful and it’s hard to change it if at all

Quest -

• Online hosting for anything you make to easily share it
  • Online has a save function for players
  • Free
  • can be somewhat fiddly to learn and more complex to do certain things than other engines here
  • Requires coding knowledge for more complex stuff

Twine

• Free
  • You can make a choose your own adventure style system without coding knowledge
  • Can fairly easily be exported to be hosted on web pages etc
  • Requires coding to do anything really complex
  • Some of the very complex stuff made in it suffers from slowdown issues even on machines that aren’t potatoes.

SUDS Single User Dungeon System
+Free

• No programming knowledge required basically at all to make something half decent
  • Interface can be easily customized without needing to know CSS
  • Has features close to that of RAGs
  • Buttons on the UI so most of the default commands are also macros, this means it’s easier for players to play the game one handed… you know why
  • has context menu options like Quest allows.