Enter the Gungeon-esque weight gain game ideas?

Hello! First post here, kinda.

I’m debating on making a weight gain top-down shooter roguelike, similar to ETG, one of my all time favorite games. I’m still a bit new to making games, so I’m a little hesitent on whether or not I should go through with this all the way, heh. Still gotta find a pixel artist, etc.

For now, I just wanted to brainstorm some ideas to see if I (or we, I guess) can come up with something coherant enough to make it both fun and entertaining as well as hawt. One mechanic I have in mind is something like the Void item from Binding of Isaac, where instead of taking an item, you convert it into stat bonuses. In this case, your character would be eating it, obviously.

I’m also looking for ideas for a setting or plot, if anyone is interested in that as well. Since there are a lot of fantasy games of this genre, I’m thinking something either like a dystopian cyberpunk-esque future, or perhaps aboard some alien planet or spaceship. For story ideas, the dystopian future would have been set as your character waking up from a cryostasis, skinny and malnourished, in a world where all of the survivors are pushing 400+ at the skinniest, where everywhere they look are robots hell bent on force feeding everyone they find. The alien space ship one could be you captured as a test subject being forced to run through these shooter trials like a rat in a maze, with your goal being to see if you can escape the series of tests and find actual freedom. Alas, the aliens just love seeing how different things get when you’re suddenly lugging around a gut that hangs to your knees. I do prefer ideas where being fat isn’t ‘bad’, as in the case of the above ideas, getting fatter does increase your stats for the most part (maybe not speed, but w/e).

Thank you for taking the time to read this <3

2 Likes