Gacha-based step counter => weight gain app (game idea)

Game idea: an app game that’s able to sync to a FitBit or other step tracker system. It would be a gatcha-style game where you pull for different characters that you can “work on”. When you select a character, every step = a calorie count added to them. Basically, it would be an app that encourages casual fitness (like, general health/movement goals rather than irl weight loss) by fattening up various characters.

I’m an artist and writer, so I couldn’t even begin to approach knowing how to make this on the technical side. Still, I think it would be super fun and useful! I could also see it having collaborations with various artists, who add their characters/art to be pulled in the gacha element (each character would probably come with a description that can include ownership/social media info). I don’t have any concept art or anything at this stage, so I’m not sure if I can put it in the “seeking collaborators” area. Still, if you read this and would be interested in working with me, or have any general feedback on the idea, please let me know!

6 Likes

Sounds fun and useful, may even be helpful for maintaining ones health while becoming plush in real life or so this hound thinks

4 Likes

This would be a large undertaking. Each smartwatch would require its own unique solution to be compatible. On top of that, if you want it to run on the phone, you need a mobile dev who are rarer than a normal dev.
Building IOS and Android apps would be almost completely separate app.

One idea would be to develop it for android smart watched. That’s almost the same as developing an android version. Still a lot but not as much since you only need to support 1 type of watch.