Getting started with Daz-3D

Firstly, apologies if this is the wrong topic, no idea what this would technically fit into, either Game Deisgn or General.

But the idea is pretty simple, I’ve been thinking about making my own game for a while now and since I’m a writer, I sadly don’t have the skills to draw. So I’ve been looking into Daz-3D stuff since a lot of VNs on this site use them and I realised that not only is it pretty hard to find anything plus size, but also that it’s pretty dang pricey too.

Am I just looking in the wrong place or is it just that steep of a starting price to get the assets one would need to start?

If you want my advice, it would be to not bother with DAZ. It is woefully incapable of creating anyone at a plus size simply because of the way it is designed. The moment you try and bend a model you will see that everything is rigged in the most basic manner possible meaning that actually posing a plus size character will result in the body distorting with even basic movements. That and every single feature is often so broken that many of the addons for sale are basically patches designed to fix or work around them, and of course since anything new in Daz needs to be a store bought addon you either have to spend a lot of money just to make your renders seem even slightly different or else try and find alternatives for free. And that’s not always an option. Frankly you are better off skipping Daz and instead going straight to blender and learning how to adjust models there if you want good results (though I suppose that is kind of a big ask).

2 Likes

If you want to render good looking bbw girls in Daz3d you will need to create model shape keys by yourself, because all morphs which you can find on marked looks bad. First you will need to make basic morph for body, then create a pose you want and after that make another morphs to fix skin distortions. With those you can get some fine results: coldsteelj - Hobbyist, Artist | DeviantArt