Halloween Stealth Horror, Death is Weighting For You

Hello. I’m unfamiliar with all the topic-making syntax, but hopefully this is good enough. I’m Morvaertis and this is my first time attempting to create a full game with a deadline (Oct. 31) Originally, I was looking for teams to work on, but I was never able to integrate with anyone very well.

Enough introduction, Death is Weighting For You is a top-down stealth horror I’m developing. There isn’t much in the way of asset-sharing without spoiling too much, so I’ll show a few previews as I create more.

The plot goes as follows:

“I was walking home after getting too much candy to count on Halloween. I took a shortcut through the park, because the nearby swamp kept people away at night. Some rumor about alligators or something. There wasn’t a soul around. I thought I saw a light in the swamp, so I stood at the edge of the park to get a better look.
Strangely, I didn’t hear anyone approaching before I was tossed downhill by something big and soft. I went tumbling down with it and only caught a glimpse of what was behind us. There were these giant slugs?! No, that couldn’t be right…”

The character (currently unnamed) wakes up in a swamp and shares dialogue with the character that tumbled into the swamp with them. Exposition is set up and then the game begins. The tutorial will be seamlessly integrated. Controls are basic WASD and the enemies will have basic patrol patterns with Line of Sight. Unlike most stealth games where detection initiates a combat sequence or an attempt to re-stealth, most of the detection in this game will result in weight gain. The player has both a ‘weight stage meter’ and an HP bar. As the player gains weight, they become slower, and can’t follow certain paths due to being too fat. This means the player will eventually be unable to outrun enemies if detected.
Here are a few images:
2022-10-14_11-21-08

Aseprite_2022-10-14_11-52-44

Aseprite_2022-10-14_15-55-25

And a WIP song:
Castle Song