Help with first games

Hi, whats a good game engine for a first time game maker? Iv always wanted to make a game but really don’t know where to start. Game maker and Stencyl feel a bit weird and off. I have a lot of experience and feel very confident using Java but iv only used it to record data, for mathematical programs, or for school ect. What is a engine I could consider using and that you guys would recommend?

Thanks,
Lurker

[quote=“Lurker, post:1, topic:1220”]Hi, whats a good game engine for a first time game maker? Iv always wanted to make a game but really don’t know where to start. Game maker and Stencyl feel a bit weird and off. I have a lot of experience and feel very confident using Java but iv only used it to record data, for mathematical programs, or for school ect. What is a engine I could consider using and that you guys would recommend?

Thanks,
Lurker[/quote]

I think the first thing that you need to ask yourself is what type of game do you want to try and make? For instance, if you wanted to make a text-based game, there’s plenty of engines already available out there that would be better suited for that, like Twine. If you wanted to make a graphical game, you have things like RPGMaker or stuff built for standard languages like Java or C. If you wanted to make a browser game, there’s things like CanvasJS, Flash, etc… And so on.