How to get started as a game developer

After reading a few posts on here I am intrigued about learning how to create a game- mainly 2D.
I have no coding experience at all, but I am a graphic designer and ‘okay’ at drawing, so I won’t have to worry about assets.

I’m not looking to do anything specific as of yet, possibly an rpg or a narrative choice game. I am aware there are plenty of tutorials, but nothing i’ve found that can help me get started “properly” and learn… not just copy the video.

I’m not expecting much but hopefully a kind soul can show me what to look for

If it should be 2d RPG game then just run “RPG Maker MZ” program and use it to create your game. There is basic tutorial in that program and everything else you would be able to learn by finding tutorials in google.

2 Likes

As much as RPG Maker is a beginner-friendly engine, I wouldn’t recommend somebody spend the £70/$80/whatever currency you use if you’re not completely sure on what it is you want to make. There’s plenty of free game engines to use if you’re just starting out; Twine, Ren’Py, Godot, Unity, even Unreal is free, so unless you happen to already own a version of RPG Maker I’d look elsewhere so you don’t feel like you’ve wasted money on an engine that doesn’t suit your needs. Plus, even if you do want to make a top-down 2D RPG, other engines can also do that and RPG Maker goes on sale quite often if you really want to use that.