Pixel Art Advice / Game engine recommendation

First I should start off with saying, I’m somewhat new to this site so apologies in advance for any mistakes.

I’m looking for any advice for people looking to start in pixel art (I have some experience in regular digital art), and what game engines would work good for what I’m going for.

Art wise, I’m looking to do simple, somewhat big sprites with animation (obviously). Characters, items, and huds. Any sort of references, video links, or anything in general giving advice would be greatly appreciated.

Game engine wise (Coding language doesn’t matter). I’m looking for a game engine that works for 2d pixel games, not like rpg maker. Specifically something that works well and runs well for simple low size 2d pixel art games. I’ve heard gamemakerstudio 2 is pretty good for this, but I recently heard they switched to a $10 a month payment thing, so I’d like to know first if that’s even worth it to begin with.

Again, any advice from anyone is greatly appreciated! I have a game idea I’d like to get working on and see through to the end, but that topic is for another time possibly.

3 Likes

for a good 2d game engine Godot is what i suggest, it might be hard to learn but once you do you can make a mock game in minutes, it uses GDScript as it’s language and is 100% free

2 Likes

I am also gonna suggest godot since it’s free.
here is a tutorial on how to handle pixle art in godot How to use Pixel Art Sprites in Godot (beginner tutorial) 🖌 - YouTube that channel is pretty good for tutorials, KidsCanCode and HeartBeast also have some good stuff

2 Likes

Thank ya both! I’ve messed with Godot before in the past, just never knew if it was exactly good for 2d pixel games, I’ll definitely try to work with it again, and thank you for the videos! I appreciate it all.