Poll: Grain to Gain 1D vs 2D

Howllo everyone!

I have a question to propose to all of you that could drastically change the game, Grain to Gain (GtG), for either better or worse. I know as the developer I should make this choice myself, but I am interested in what the community would think about this change.

If you were on the discord on April 1st, you may have seen a teaser/April Fools joke that showed a fake screenshot of the game GtG in a 2D manner (2D as in it uses pixels vs 1D that uses a string of characters). I was mostly joking, but a part of me liked the idea. I actually had a crazy thought to do a series of the game that would get more graphically appealing in later installments (first would be in 1D, second would be in 2D, third in 3D???).

I was originally doing it as an ASCII game so I could learn C++ more effectively, but the semester of C++ programming I took hardly taught me anything so I’d mainly learned it via self taught (And tbh, I REALLY dislike how much C++ whines to me every single time I try something, like adding a new lib to work with). So C++ has been giving me a headache, I still would like to learn in, but I feel that now I’ve been playing with Gamemaker: Studios for a bit, I could make this lil ASCII game from mediocre to maybe a cool beans.

But I do want to hear everyone’s opinions on it. I can still go back and work on the ASCII version, though I would need to definitely rewrite the C++ because I have memory leaks in a lot of places apparently, big oops with apologies. (Mainly when the game ends, I didn’t tell it to delete the pointers, in case anyone was wondering what leak I was referring to (that is the only leaks I know so far)).

:+1:PROS:

-The game would have a more visualized style
-More freedom in character creation (not restricted to ASCII characters)
-A larger color palette (16 million+ vs 16 (255 since 2 colors can be used for each character))