Projects and Monetary Compensation

Hello Weight Gaming community!

Since my last post went so well, I thought I might make another post since this topic has recently come up and has been on my mind.

As you guys may or may not know, I’m a play tester/writing consultant on a project that was launched on this website called Forks . I highly advise towards you all to check it out, even though so far only the first demo is up and another one is currrently nearing completion. I still suggest you bookmark the topic since it’s a wonderful game being worked on by wonderful people.

After working with @Tron (creator of Forks) I’ve come across the typical online artist issues. Not from Tron, but from people within this forum. I won’t name names, that’s not what I’m about. Mainly because there’s 2 sides to every story. And I can kind of understand where these type of people are coming from.

On this wonderful site, there are projects much like Tron’s. Games that center around weight gaining. What I’ve been noticing in an influx of people creating games and reaching out for help within the community. Harmless right? Well, here’s the kicker: the creators of these games are not willing to pay the people getting involved as coders or writing staff. See here’s where I feel like it’s a double edged sword. These games are all going to be free upon release, and all the people involved are going to be properly credited. So, is it a volunteer project, or is it abuse of the community’s kindness? To an extent I don’t think it is, so long as you’re making it abundantly clear in your post in the Projects section. On top of making sure you’re not asking anyone who posts any ounce interest to work on said game. I’ve seen some creators guilty of this.