Robot Girl Inflation Schmup

Hello. I have no real experience in making video games, but I’m interested in learning how to. I had this idea bouncing around in my head, and I don’t know how realistic this game would be to make for someone with almost zero experience, but it wouldn’t hurt to share it. Or maybe it will.

Story: It’s a pretty simple story. An inventor has five different robots that he made. They were built to store and grow large quantities of electricity to be used to help power the city and other things like equipment in construction sites and factories. Then, a computer virus by an evil scientist turns four of the robots evil and they go on a rampage. It’s up to the one robot to save her ‘sisters’.

Gameplay: So it’s a side scrolling shoot’em up. The main mechanic I thought of was that you can absorb enemy bullets. You do this by changing the robots color to match the color of the bullet: Either red, blue, yellow, or green. This is done with the push of a button, one color mapped to each of the face buttons.

When you absorb enough bullets, the robot will bulk up, becoming bigger. Getting bigger makes you move a little slower and makes your hitbox bigger. Aside from regular size (tier 0), there are three tiers of bulk.

To get back to tier zero, you’d push a button to use a special attack. The attack would depend on your current color too, so red would be a spread shot, green would be homing shots, etc. The strength of the attack would also depend on your current size, so tier 1 would be a weak version of the attack, tier 2 would be a much stronger version, and tier 3 would be more or less a screen clearing attack.