Should I contribute to the git repo?

Hi!

I’m fairly new to this game and community. I am really liking this game, and since the project is open-sourced, I was thinking about contributing to the repo, but the last commit of the repo was two years ago, so I don’t know if I should even try, and even make me think the project is dead :c.

I have seen the game has great modding support, but that is not what I want. I want to help fixing small issues and changing the user interface a bit and stuff like that. Basically small changes that are not enough for a mod.

What do you recommend? Should I contribute to the git repo?

Sure. If you want to work on something you should do it. Some small changes are always nice.

The fm-dev repo has more or less been abandoned. You are better off forking it so that you can control the content you add. However, there has been significant progress made in the fc-preg fork. There’s tons and tons of content there compared to fm-dev one. I think the latest branch is a bit unstable, but you can always fork off your own branch from an earlier point and then request to merge in your changes if you think the community would like to continue developing that.

Ya @ticktock is right, in general if it looks like there is nothing going on with the repo you will be better off forking. If you want your fork to be apart of the main branch you can always still make a pull request as if they do not accept it your fork with the changes will still be active.

fm-dev is not about free cities, but fetish master. You’re still right about forking though.

I had a quick look and @jimbobvii’s fork is the only one with recent commits. I think it’s probably covered in this post? Maybe have a chat with him and possibly work together or fork from his version?