Stupid question, but: Fan games?

I haven’t seen any threads on this, so I’m just going to ask; are fan games accepted around here? I ask primarily because of the recent announcement regarding EU servers, and I want to know if I should alter a game idea I have to accommodate the site’s standards.

!!!IMPORTANT NOTE: I AM NOT A LAWYER!!!

This is a hard question to answer as it depends on the fan game, and requires a bit of background first.

In general under US copyright law (which is what Weight Gaming follows) the original creator of an intellectual property (writing, art, code, ect) automatically reserves all rights unless the original author waves those rights (this is usually done by including a license with the work like the MIT open source license in code or signing over the rights to another entity as is the case for work for hire). Also, copyright (unlike trademarks) can be enforced selectively by the copyright holder and lasts practically forever (UN standard is 50 year minimum but the US on average is much higher) so it also depends on who holds the copyright. For example Nintendo will strike down anyone that even glances at their IP while other companies are happy to allow and even support fan made content.

As explained in our FAQ we do not allow users to post copyrighted content on Weight Gaming without express written permission from the original author. While US law does not require us to actively enforce this we are required to comply with any requests to remove copyrighted material from the site from the copyright holder.