The Munchies: Mansion Madness (side-scroller)

Hello!

I have zero game design experience, but I’ve been playing video games for decades and have an idea.

A video game based on The Munchies. A simple side-scroller where you dodge Munchies while working your way towards the exit to freedom.

It’s set in a mansion (hence the title). You can choose a male, female, or nonbinary character (and a full range of skin tones). I imagine 3 or 4 different maps (the main floors, the cellar, the attic, and maybe the roof, and/or the garden where there’s a hedge maze). And you basically run around, dodging Munchies that roam the map.

Some of the Munchies carry food items and if they hit you, you gain a little weight (maybe a calorie meter that gradually goes up with every hit?). Think the first Super Mario Bros, where the Munchies are the Goombas/Koopas/Enemies. And instead of shrinking or dying when they hit you, you accumulate calories from the food they’re carrying. Over time, running into too many Munchies will make your sprite fatter.

As you gain weight, your sprite becomes bigger, slower, and you can’t jump quite as high. But as you fatten, you earn abilities that keep the Munchies at bay; like ground-pounds that shake the map, and burps & farts that act as projectiles or AOE (area of effect) attacks. Maybe even a belly flop or a butt smash or a belly/butt bump.

If enough Munchies gather around the player (the fatter the player is, the more Munchies it’ll take to do this), they can carry you to the kitchen where they sit you down at a table or in front of a fridge. There, you have a mini-game where you have to try and stop yourself from eating. Maybe a rapid button press that slows your arms down the faster you press the buttons. But if you’re too slow or just set the controller down and watch, your character continues to eat unabated.