zero experience modeling fat characters

I want to make a game based on weight gain. I am not an artist by any means, im a programmer with some knowledge of 3d modelling, but none of it is about modelling characters.
I know that weight gain animations in 3d can be archived with morph targets (shape keys in blender) but i need 3d models of characters for that.
So i ask you for help. What is a good way to start learning how to make character models? And how do you come about making a fat/bbw model?

1 Like

I would start with a basic tutorial that goes through all the basics, sort off like this one: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLjEaoINr3zgEPv5y--4MKpciLaoQYZB1Z

when you have a grasp of the basics, I would try and find a tutorial where they are actually making a character. preferably one with a simple design, the tutorial provides some good reference images and it uses sculpting tools. I don’t know of any tutorials like that though except the outdated one I used back in the day, but there is probably something on youtube. you might have to use google to find them tho

when I started making fat models I basically just started by making a thin one and then duplicating it and using the sculpt tools to make it fatter

1 Like

I would ask yourself what is it you are wanting to create and check that against what you are currently able to do. Are your characters going to be in a game or purely an animation? For example, if you are looking to create a large cast of characters that have a fairly realistic style you may best be served by using DAZ 3d models and purchasing fat character morphs, or going to smutbase and customizing a character from there. From there you can do some limited sculpting and editing of the model and mess around with using shapekeys to get closer to the proportions you want, this way you don’t have to spend a ton of time creating a model from scratch.