I am an idiot, Please Help Me Learn Ren'Py.

Hello all!

I wanted to make a thread where I just… lay out my shortcomings and ask for help from the community. There are so many talented game devs here, especially a large number making Visual Novels through programs like Ren’Py.

I am not an experienced coder. I’m a computer idiot. I can make basic choices and dialogue through scripting, but I’m really struggling to grasp more advanced concepts, like increasing stats and triggering events.

If any of the developers working on or who have worked on visual novels and the like through programs like Ren’Py want to talk about their experience and help a rookie survive Python… I’d appreciate it.

Right now, I’ve been playing with a very early demo for an ongoing project, a small engine I downloaded for making Dating Sim daily choices, and occasionally digging into the (far too advanced for my monkey brain) files for Tramp and Fill Me Up.

Thanks again for your help, anyone who stumbles upon this

3 Likes

I haven’t posted any games or anything here yet, but I’ve been looking into ren’py a bit as well
Actually very happy you made this post, cuz I really believe in helping eachother out with things like this

Python, luckily, isn’t the most difficult language to learn and work with, Ren’py also allows creators to do quite a bit of work without too much complex coding
I’d love to go back and forth with you and see where things hit roadblocks, we can just chat a bit on that as well

If I have any general advice: don’t worry too much about how your code looks for now, and keep your first projects fairly small. Just try to understand what is happening, and why the code does the things it does.

Also, depending on how ‘beginner’ you are, do look up some basic videos about python (just basic python, not ren’py) and do some research on variables, if-else statements and loops
If you understand those 3 you should be able to puzzle yourself through a LOT