Moemon fat mod? (update: I have some idea of what I'm doing)

So, some of you may remember this thread I made a few years ago, and some talented people made some edited fat sprites of the Moemon characters from the popular Pokémon rom hack Moemon. I’ve been sitting on this idea for a while now, and I’m kinda posting this on a whim, but I’d be interested in making a rom hack (or just editing the existing rom hack) of a Moemon style rom hack but with fat sprites. The only small problem is, as the title suggests, I have literally zero experience in rom hacking, or sprite editing. I’d definitely say I’m tech savvy, but I’m no artist. So I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of learning these skills? I’d like to work on this project in my spare time, but I don’t even know where to start. I don’t want to get too ambitious with this project, it would literally just be Pokémon but with edited sprites. I’d even say I’d only edit final evolutions of the Moemon sprites to lower the workload. Feel free to discuss and give me suggestions on where to start! Thank you :slightly_smiling_face:

Edit 7/18/23: I figured out how to create a rom for Pokémon crystal. As @GellyCannon said, after I got everything set up, I realized that replacing the sprites really is as easy as swapping out some png files. I’m not an artist at all, so I can’t really be of any help there. BUT I can now edit code of the game and make changes to the game (i.e. adding new types, moves, changing systems etc.). It would take a lot of learning and fiddling around with the code, but I can do it.

2 Likes

If you want to mod a pokemon game from scratch, i suggest picking one of the earlier titles (Gen 1-2 i personally recommend, gen 3 should also be decently viable). The GB pokemon games have disassemblies, so basically reverse engineered blueprints of the entire code, which makes it (ultimately) easier on you when it comes to putting in new visuals.