Questions regarding Rimworld Modding

So I’ve been thinking a little about creating a weight gain mod for Rimworld, but I am a complete newbie when it comes to modding it, so I’ve got some questions for the folks that might have some experience with it.

I quickly glanced through the core XML’s of the game, and it looks relatively straight forward and open ended if you know what you’re doing and where to look, but I wouldn’t want to leap into it blindly and suddenly hit a wall, so the things I’m curious about are:

• More Body Types
    Is it possible to create new body types outside of the normal ones, without replacing any of the default ones?

• Change Body Type Midgame
    Is it possible to have a pawns’ body type change through certain conditions being met? For example, if I made a weight gain counter, and when the counter reaches a certain number the body type changes to another one.

• Make Food Add to a Stat
    Is it possible to make it so foods will add to a new stat/need/skill/health condition that I would make?

• Making a Weight Gain Stat
    I’m sure there are a few different ways to go about this, but which way would be the best? Does it have to be a health condition/skill or a need, or could I just make a hidden stat that would increase in number?

Hopefully I didn’t make that needlessly complicated, like I said I have no experience in creating mods for Rimworld, but hopefully there is some of you kind people out there that knows some answers to the things that I am looking for!

9 Likes

Since this is a modding question this topic was moved to General Games

I have played Rimworld for a while, and have looked into the code a few times, but what I say may be wrong.

I think Changing Bodytype, making Food add to Stats, as well as Creating a Weight Gain Stat is possible. Adding Bodytypes should theoretically be easy too, but most of the mods I’ve seen on Nexus, that deal with bodytypes simply replace other bodytypes, so I’m not sure.