The Gain Before Christmas

In light of the Christmas season (and having missed Fat Fortnight), I’ve decided to make a Christmas-themed CYOA game in Twine. The link to the very early, very unfinished story is in the link below.

The Gain Before Christmas v0.1.0

I actually wrote the first draft of this story on my phone while traveling for Thanksgiving, so I’m sure there’s a lot of room for polish. Right now, I’ve only made progress on one of the three possible character paths, and that one is far from finished. Between my full-time job, my addiction to Warframe, and the probably decision to write the entire thing in rhyme, I don’t recommend expecting frequent updates.

Even so, please let me know what you think of it so far. Also, I’ve never used a file-sharing site like this before, so please let me know if there are any issues downloading the game.

3 Likes

I can’t get the game to open, I tried in internet explorer, microsoft edge and chrome, but none of them worked.

Same here. I tried them all and none work.

Does this link work? If not, then the only thing I can think of is to play the game using Firefox.

1 Like

Got it to work, i think there is something that windows is reading as a threat. Edge automatically disallowed, while explorer allowed the option to override

Nice story, can’t wait to see more

By the way, does anyone here have experience with Twine? I can’t seem to figure out how to add spaces between stanzas.

I have a little Twine experience. When I run the game (great start by btw!) I see spaces between the stanzas. What exactly do you mean?

Here’s what the first two stanzas in the disclaimer should look like:

To all those who seek the story within,
Please heed this warning before you begin.
The tale that follows is quite the naughty one,
'Tis one that juvenile eyes ought to shun.

You’ll find people partaking in acts most lewd,
Baseness, depravity, bodies in the nude.
If such base acts do not your interest perish,