Personal Question: Careers?

I am curious how much diversity we have in this community in terms of career fields and occupations. I would usually volunteer to share first, but I will have to pass on this one; I will be graduating from college this summer (no job lined up yet). My impression has been that a significant portion of this community is in a tech-related field, but that might just be because I think most people on this forum are more tech-savvy than me. Please indulge me.

I work primarily as a senior developer at a research hospital, and then do consulting work for another. Technically I also work with grotlover2 on this community project, but he does pretty much all of the heavy lifting right now. I intend to shift my consulting LLC over to investing over the next year or so as my contracts end.

1 Like

I studied programming at university, but only ever had one (short-lived) job as a programmer. Partly due to recession, partly due to the languages I was taught being hopelessly outdated. I had a few dead end jobs after that, then purely by chance landed a job as a graphic designer and have been doing that ever since. Well, that and The Weighting Game, of course. Some might say that’s more important than my real-life job :stuck_out_tongue:

So, I guess that makes me kind of techy

1 Like

I am on the verge of graduating university as a game designer, I am not bothering looking for jobs due to how difficult the market is atm. Instead I will use the opportunity to simply make more games to get better at my craft. I should hopefully be skilled enough to release games that will make me a little money until I can either find a job or found my own studio. I have a few talented people who are eager to work with me which is exciting on the indie front :smiley: — Of course it goes without saying that once I am free of my university constraints I will want to make games for this community too!

1 Like