Twine CYOA WIP

Hi y’all
so this morning I decided to try out Twine, and I think its method of file/story organization is just what I was looking for. I’m a writer, not a programmer, and text adventures are the closest I’m ever going to get to making a smut game X)

Anyway I’m going to talk about my idea below, but if you have experience with Twine, have tips to share about it or just CYOA creation, even mistakes you made that I can learn from, I’d love to hear from you.

So my idea is this: you are a young, slim, athletic 20-something dude with a hobby in urban exploration. You’ve discovered an abandoned research facility outside of town, all overgrown and spooky. You’re gonna go check it out. Take some pics for your blog.
It’s not gonna be a proper game with like health and item management. Just a CYOA with lots of branching paths and different kinks being presented.
(in fact the reason I lost steam on it awhile back is because I got so ambitious with all the options and in-depth stories from each choice you made, that my project in Quest got too big for me to keep track of everything. It was a fuckin’ mess haha)

I will say that it will be a male-focused game; you will play as a male person the entire time, and there will be lots of kinky stuff that might happen to you, weight gain is just one of many potential “TERRIBLE FATES” you might experience XD so pepper your angus

Anyway. Sound good? Do’s and Don’ts with Twine? Things you wish you’d known earlier? Even if it should be obvious, hit me with it anyway.

7 Likes

One thing I’d recommend is having paths through the game rejoin pretty frequently, otherwise the scope of a CYOA gane can get out of hand pretty fast (e.g. If every choice leads to two completely separate routes, by the eigth choice you would have to make 128 new pages).